Spring news

 

DSC_0350

Grey Heron, oil and collage on canvas

Really busy with admin work for a local art society at the moment, but somehow I’m finding that having to struggle to make time to do my own work inspires creativity.  I was struck by a rather tatty looking heron, stood and watched it for a while, but was puzzled as to how I could portray its noble tattiness, until I hit on the idea of collaging on the spiky feathers using raffia.  This took a while to get right, but I’m really pleased with the result – previously I’ve tried to use a variety of different brushes but without ever getting quite the effect I was looking for.

DSC_0355

Curlew, oil and collage on canvas

I was so excited by my success I decided to have a go at a curlew as a companion piece.  Here the wing is collaged with some fine net to give extra texture, as well as the tail feathers which are raffia again.

These painting are going into Theatr Clwyd, Mold, as part of the exhibition of the Clwydian Art Society shortly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment